20 responses

  1. Backpack Cooler
    November 14, 2011

    Wow, I had no idea that modern backpacks now come with air suspension in order to keep your back cool. I’m sure that’s very helpful when you are jogging or hiking for miles and getting real sweaty and hot.

  2. kipwinger
    March 4, 2012

    I’m running with the Talon 22 and I’m continuously having problems with bounce and the waist straps riding up higher and higher. I just can’t stop that! I don’t know if I pack it wrong or what. Any tips?

    I’m still working away from the pack and finishing my running trailer. For the time being, the Talon 22 is the best I could find. Also works great as a bike commuting pack!

    • Josh
      March 7, 2012

      Kipwinger – I like the look of the Talon 22 a lot. I’m wondering if you have the right size? It comes in S/M and M/L and those few inches can make a big difference. However, if you do have the right size, cinch down the waist strap as much as you can. Then do it some more. Also, if you’re not doing it already, put heaviest items at the bottom of your pack and the lightest on top. Aside from those three things, you might not have the right pack for your body.

      Now, to the running trailer – I have had the same idea for a while now! We recently purchased a Chariot Cougar I bike trailer with jogging stroller add-on, so my wife could bike our son to daycare in the morning, and at the end of the day I could convert it to a jogger and run home. However, I hate running while pushing something in front of me. It throws off my whole running form. The coolest thing about this type of trailer, though, is that you can get Hiking and Skiing conversion kits! I’ve decided that the hiking one is probably the best for running-with-trailer. I may need to modify it (get rid of the handles) to make it work. I’ll let you know how it goes.

      • gordon
        May 15, 2012

        Just read this after my post….i am still at work…I did have my shoes at the top I will try putting them at the bottom and tightening the **** out of it. lol

  3. gordon
    May 15, 2012

    I just picked up the stratos24 and ran to work with it today….but it is bouncing on me and the straps are rubbing my shoulders and neck…any suggestions on how to tighten it for running?

    Thanks!

    • Heng Ky
      May 16, 2012

      If you pull the shoulder strap to much the hipbelt rises to your waist. Adjust the hipbelt right on your hip then adjust the shoulder strap accordingly and it should work fine. Hope this work for you.

  4. Heng Ky
    May 16, 2012

    Thx for the review! I wasn’t sure to purchase the Stratos 24 if it was comfortable running with but you convinced me as a runner. My solution of the long strap is to tuck it behind the hipbelt connecting to the pack

  5. Mark
    August 5, 2012

    Great review, how tall are you? Thank you.

    • Josh
      August 5, 2012

      Thanks! 5′ 10″ (152cm)

      • Mark
        August 5, 2012

        Thanks Josh, I’m the same height too. My measurements look like a medium would be the correct fit, is your pack a medium? Thanks again.

      • Josh
        August 5, 2012

        Yes. It’s a medium.

      • Bo Ning Han
        August 21, 2012

        hey josh, that should be 178 cm if you’re five ten.

      • Josh
        August 21, 2012

        Whoops, thanks!

  6. LT
    September 24, 2012

    Do you ever run with a laptop in your backpack? I like the idea of the mesh back, but I read a review of on zappos indicating the curved shape of the bag (I guess the structure that holds it away from your back) makes it hard to get a laptop to fit. Curious if you’ve had a similar experience. Thanks!

    • Josh
      September 24, 2012

      I have run several times with my Asus eee Transformer tablet. The curvature of the pack does make it a bit unusual when carrying laptops/tablets. The tablet is snug in the laptop sleeve at the bottom of the Osprey, but sticks out away from the pack at the top. It’s a little annoying, but you can still make it work.

      If you are thinking about buying it, bring a laptop with you so you can see how it fits. Osprey makes other packs without the Airspeed system that might work better for run commuters who often carry computers.

      • LT
        October 21, 2012

        Thanks for the advice! I ended up with the Osprey Momentum since it has a dedicated laptop slot. Plus I decided at the end of the day it’s really not hot enough where I live (San Francisco) to justify the Airspeed system. I’ve done the commute 6 times so far and I’m really happy with the pack. :)

Leave a Reply

 

 

 

Back to top
mobile desktop